Studio Closed
Project Studio Spaces for Rent
Sorcerer Sound has ceased studio operations. The space has been divided up into a number of rooms which are available for rent as Project Studio spaces.Call us at 212-226-0480 or visit our Rental Page for more info.
We still have some gear to sell including vintage Neve Modules plus a huge quantity of parts and manuals for sale. See our sale pages for more information.
Our parent company, Acoustilog, Inc. will continue to provide acoustic consultation services to the recording industry as well as commercial and residential clients.
Sorcerer Sound Recording Studios
19 Mercer Street, New York, New York 10013 (212) 226-0480


Norah Jones' "Come Away With Me" has won 8 Grammy Awards, including Record of the Year.
Shemekia Copeland has been nominated for 5 W.C. Handy Blues awards.
Rock & Alternative
Dance and R & B
Latin & International
New Music
Video & Film Location Shoots

Client List

A few recent highlights:
Norah Jones, Jack Bruce, Matthew Shipp & DJ Spooky, Jeff Tweedy (Chelsea Walls Original Soundtrack), Hedwig & the Angry Inch (Soundtrack), Shemekia Copeland (produced by Dr. John).

Rock & Alternative

Blues Traveler

Eleanor McEvoy
The Alarm Aztec Camera Babes In Toyland
Bad Brains Blues Traveler David Broza
Jack Bruce Jeff Buckley Bush Tetras
David Byrne John Cale Lloyd Cole
Shawn Colvin Elvis Costello-Dirty Dozen Dig
Dinosaur Jr. Dr. John Bob Dylan
Eleventh Dream Day Elysian Fields Everything But The Girl
Marianne Faithful Anton Fier The Fleshtones
Steve Forbert Fossil Danny Gatton
Corey Glover Peter Gordon Jerry Harrison
Debbie Harry Beth Hart Band Richie Havens
Sophie B.Hawkins Tramaine Hawkins Richard Hell
Helmet Richard X. Heyman Hollowbodies
Into Another Jane's Addiction Garland Jeffries
Johnny Johnson David Johannson Norah Jones
Daniel Lanois Cyndi Lauper Denis Leary
Arto Lindsay Luna Lunachicks
Luscious Jackson Material/Bill Laswell John McEnroe
Eleanor McEvoy Meatloaf The Murmurs
Nancy Boy Sinead O'Connor The Odds
Yoko Ono P-Shy Paleface
Joe Piscopo Iggy Pop Psychedelic Furs
Public Image, Ltd. Pussy Galore Raging Hormones
The Ramones Redbelly Lou Reed
Vernon Reid Mark Ribot Keith Richard
The Roches Rockapella Henry Rollins
Rick Rubin - Danzig Robert Quine Stevie Salas
Fernando Sanders Scarce Scritti Politti
Paul Shaffer Jules Shear Shooty'z Groove
Shudder To Think G.E. Smith Sonic Youth
Spin Doctors The Sugarcubes Television
Terrorvision They Might Be Giants Richard Thompson
Trip Shakespeare Rosie Vela Tom Verlaine
Violent Femmes Wanderlust Whoregasm
Xanax 25 Sammy Yaffa (Hanoi Rocks)


Russell Gunn

Billy Bang

Regina Carter

Sherry Winston

Geri Allen Roy Ayers Joey Barron
Richie Beirach Ronee Blakey Hiram Bullock
Joe King Carrasco Joe Chambers Curtis Clarke
Billy Cobham Ornette Coleman Jerome Cooper
Miles Davis Hank Deane Larry Elgart
Mitch Forman Kenny Garrett Dizzy Gillespie
Anita Gravine Russell Gunn Charlie Haden
Jim Hall Band Herbie Hancock Phil Haynes
Mark Helias John Hicks Terumasa Hino
Ronald Shannon Jackson Jazz Passengers Niels Lan Doky
Bireli Lagrene Dave Liebman Pete Levin
Mike Longo Jeff Lorber Joe Lovano
Carmen Lundy Susannah McCorkle Paul Motian
David Murray New York Voices Susan Osborne
Greg Osby Maceo Parker Jim Pepper
Lenny Pickett Bobby Previte Don Pullen
Max Roach Ned Rothenburg David Sanborn
John Scofield Gil Scott-Heron Janis Siegel
Matthew Shipp/DJ Spooky Wayne Shorter Leni Stern
Creed Taylor Henry Threadgill Dave Valentin
Tony Williams Paul Winter


Colonel Abrams Carlos Alomar Andre Betts
Big Pig Black Girl Angela Bofill
Brat Pack Brothers- Evil E.& HenG. Jocelyn Brown
Jonathan Butler Gavin Christopher Deodato
Erasure Erykah Fatback Band
Fine Young Cannibals Roberta Flack Aretha Franklin
Debbie Gibson Al Green Gwen Guthrie
Nona Hendryx Howard Johnson Chaka Khan
Curtis King & Johnny Jam Evelyn Champagne King L.A. Posse
Spike Lee - E.U.Band Curtis Mantronik Christopher Max
Lonette Mckee Men Of Vizion Marcus Miller
Mr.Fiddler Leona Naess B.J.Nelson
Donald Newkirk Meshell Ndegé Ocello The O'Jays
Tommy Page Maxi Priest Regina
Safire Shea Seger-Smith Angie Stone
Surface - Pic Conley Sweet G (Curtis Blow) Sybill
The System Lillo Thomas Tony, Toni, Toné
Vanessa Williams Fred Zarr

Latin & International

Deep Rhumba

Juan Carlos Formell

Kayhan Kalhor

Fania All Stars Rubén Blades La Portuaria
Charlie Garcia Seis Del Solar Yomo Toro
King Changó Astor Piazzola Fabiana Cantillo
Fausto Leali Corsican Choir IAM
Miriam Makeba Wilkins Soda Stereo
Kadomatsu Super Junky Monkey Vox One

New Music/Other

Tony Trischka

Denis Leary
Laurie Anderson Glen Branca John Cage
Nick Didkovsky Fred Frith Diamanda Galas
Allen Ginsburg Philip Glass Steven Reich
Elliot Sharpe John Zorn


Fontella Bass Jessie Mae Renfro
Marion Williams Tony Heilbut


De La Soul Jungle Brothers L.L. Cool J
New Kingdom Public Enemy Run DMC
A Tribe Called Quest Wu Tang


Backer Spielvogel Comedy Central Dean Witter Renyolds
HBO Momix Dance Company MTV
Zagoren Group


Rent: Original Cast Album

Chelsea Walls

Beat Street Beverly Hills Cop Boomerang
Bright Lights, Big City A Bronx Tale Colors
Eat, Drink, Man, Woman I Shot Andy Warhol Joe Vs. The Volcano
Rent (Cast Album) Rocko's Modern Life Scent Of A Woman
Short Cuts Love Walked In Chelsea Walls Original (Jeff Tweedy)
Hedwig & the Angry Inch

Video Shoots

Studio B's 25 foot ceiling and catwalk are great for lighting and camera placement.
"Comedian" Trailer, Jerry Seinfeld Movie: "Black & White" Debbie Gibson
Ignacio Berroa (DCI) Giovanni Hidalgo (DCI) Illegal
Middlemarch Films New Kingdom Patti Smythe
Television BBC- "Jazz Heroes"


Todd Barkan Cutfather & Joe Gary Katz
Tommy Lipuma Arif Mardin Gil Norton
Hugh Padgham Steve Thompson Russ Titleman
David Was Don Was Hal Willner

Home | Studio A | Studio B | Microphones | Tape Machines | Pro Tools DAW | CR B Outboard | CR A Outboard | Vintage Gear | Instruments | Acoustics | Archiving and Transfers | Client List | Location | Articles | Literature | Home Page with Table of Contents Frame

Questions? Comments? E-Mail us at

Copyright 1996, Sorcerer Sound